Tags

,

I have with me today a talented and experienced author, Margaret Tanner. Here is her heart to heart interview with me, I hope you enjoy reading about Ms. Tanner and her work.

Business before Pleasure:

1. How much real life do you put into or influences your books?

Because I write historical romance, there is not much of my life in my stories, although I have used information I gathered from old family diaries and handed down stories. My ancestors were pioneers in frontier Australia.

2. What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Editing is the hardest part for me.

3. What are your current projects?

I am working on a convict era novel (1820’s) at the moment. It is actually with my publisher going through the first round of edits.

4. How do you go about choosing the title for your book(s)?

The titles seem to choose me. I normally have a title before I start writing the book.

5. What is your favorite genre to write?

Historical Romance, of the steamy variety. I like the term, bodice ripper, redundant though it may be these days. I think it adequately describes most of my books.

6. Generally, how long does it take you to complete a book from idea to handing it over to your publisher?

From 3 to 6 months, but it varies.

7. Do you ever use someone in your life as a sounding board for ideas or do you prefer to work alone?

I prefer to work alone.

8. Do your travel to research for your book(s)?

I have. Several of my novels are set against a background of World War 1 and I have travelled to the battlefields of France and Belgium, a truly poignant experience. I have travelled to England also. Most of my other books are set in my home state of Victoria, the area of North Eastern Victoria in particular, and I was born there. My family were pioneers in the area, so I still visit regularly.

9. Do you have any advice for new authors looking to make their own literary statement?

Never give up on your dream of publication, no matter how many rejections you receive.

10. How many books have you written? Do you have a particular favorite?

All up including novellas I would say 20. I like them all.

11. Why did you choose to use a publisher instead of self-publishing?

I like the support you receive from a publisher. I have two publishers, Books We Love and The Wild Rose Press, but I have self-published 4 novellas.

12. Where do your ideas come from?

I don’t really know, they just seem to jump into my head, usually at night time.

13. How many books do you currently have published?

I have 10 from my two publishers. I have self-published 4 Erotic Romance novellas, under the name of KC Vixen.

 

More About Margaret ~ The Fun & the Naughty

1. Share one thing about yourself that would surprise people who know you.

 I was going to start up an on-line business making naughty adult chocolates. Bought the molds and had everything ready to go, then I got cold feet and chickened out. Still got the molds though.

2. Doggy style, cow girl or missionary?

Any style that feels comfortable.

3. What secret sinful pleasure do you keep hidden in your cupboards?

Chocolate bars and naughty books.

4. Are you a wine or beer kinda gal?

No. I don’t drink alcohol.

5. If you could go anywhere at all on your next vacation where would you go?

England to visit my son who lives there.

6. If you could choose any hot famous guy to take with you who would it be and why?

Hugh Jackman. I just love everything about him.

7. Tall, Dark and Deadly or Smart and Sexy or Athletic and Funny?

Tall, dark and deadly for sure.

8. What was your “dream” job as a child?

Being an author.

9. What was the worst job you ever had while working towards being a published author?

Delivering the mail. It was awful. I was attacked by dogs and there were so many houses that did not display a street number. I didn’t last more than a couple of months.

 

About Your Book – Fiery Possession

Introduce us to the main characters:

Josephine (Jo) Saunders. Luke Campton

 How do these two meet?

They meet when the heroine gets off a stage coach and the hero is waiting to collect his mail.

How would you characterize their relationship in one word answers, start, middle and end?

Reluctant. Fiery.

What three words would you use to describe this story?

A bodice ripper

 

FIERY POSSESSION by Margaret Tanner

 Tanner-FieryPossession200x300

Blurb:

Jo Saunders, a fiery American beauty, arrives in frontier Australia to save her debt- ridden brother’s farm. She clashes with her wealthy neighbor, Luke Campton, but neither of them can deny the attraction sizzling between them.

When Jo is involved in his brother’s death, Luke seeks revenge by forcing her to become his mistress. Branded a rich man’s whore and ostracized by the townsfolk, pride is the only thing between Jo and total degradation.

Hate, lust and murder. How can Jo and Luke overcome these obstacles and allow love to flourish?

 

Excerpt:

1860’s North Eastern Victoria, Australia.

“Bloody fool.” Luke Campton stepped forward as the driver hauled in on the reins to pull up the Melbourne stagecoach. The horses’ sides heaved, sweat glistened on their coats and flecks of foam clung to the harnesses. They had been driven hard under the whip. If any Campton employee had showed such little regard for an animal, he would be dismissed.

With any luck the English letter he had been waiting months for would be amongst the mail. He flicked a cursory glance at the young female passenger as she alighted, but when she stepped away from the coach and he could see her full on, he couldn’t take his eyes off her.

What a beauty. A swathe of flame-colored hair had escaped from the confines of her green bonnet and drifted across one milky white cheek. As he gazed into her fiery emerald eyes, his heartbeat escalated. He surveyed her now, making no attempt to disguise his admiration. She had undone the top two buttons on her gown, giving him a tantalizing glimpse of smooth creamy flesh. What he saw he liked – very much.

Jo Saunders returned the tall stranger’s intense gaze. What a splendid specimen of arrogant, proud manhood. His snug fitting brown moleskin trousers accentuated his long legs and strong masculine thighs.

His charcoal gray eyes were bold, assessing. Full, sensuous lips parting into a smile softened his ruthless features. He wasn’t classically handsome. His character-filled face, like the front cover of a well-read book, appeared worn and jaded.

How would it feel to have those hot lips pressed against her own, to taste their fiery passion?  Was she mad? The sun must have addled her brain. She shook her head to clear it. Well brought up young women did not think of men in such a wanton fashion. Her genteel mother would have had a fit of the vapors. As for her father, he might have been a military man, but this kind of boldness from his only daughter would be abhorrent to him.

Of course, her nerves were shredded. She had just survived a stagecoach hold up hadn’t she? The driver had driven like a man possessed then dumped her in the middle of nowhere. No wonder she had these wicked fantasies.

“No need to have driven those horses so hard,” the tall man said curtly.

His voice sounded surprisingly well educated, and she nodded her approval. Strong men who cared for the well-being of animals had always appealed to her. And this man made her heart flutter like a bird in a gilded cage.

 

Buy Links:

http://amzn.com/B00C2JOK6M

 

 

