Tags

, ,

Image How do you feel about the current trend toward  erotica in the romantic fiction genre? Do you think it’s simply an evolution of the genre, a broadening of the scope of writers in this field or is the trend a disturbing one in your opinion? What effect, if any, is this new direction in romance having on non-erotic romance fiction, and the public perception of it? 

Personally I’m really happy that romance fiction has seemed to take a turn toward more intense writing. I used to read a lot of Mills and Boon, Harlequin and Silhouette Desire books as a younger girl and I have to admit feeling some level of frustration after reading the intimate scenes in those books. I mean there’s nothing wrong with purple prose but sheesh, sometimes it really gets tedious reading between the lines and not being able to picture the scene properly due to the vagueness of the writing. When i read romance I want to be there with the characters, experiencing each moment with them, and I’d prefer that experience to be as tantalizing as possible.

So what do you think? Drop me a comment and tell me how you feel about it. I look forward to hearing your side of things.

